Animal Welfare Award for MEP Carl Schlyter

For the second year one MEP has been recognised for contributions to animal welfare and for the second year it was a Scandinavian! This year Carl Schlyter (Greens/EFA) of Sweden won the award. MEP Schlyter is honorary president of the parliament’s intergroup on animal welfare and conservation of animals.

IFAW once again sponsored the Animal Welfare Award and it was my distinguished pleasure to present the award to MEP Schlyter. Before opening the envelope to learn who the winner was I took a few moments to remind the audience of MEPs, journalists, and Brussels lobbyists about one of the most compelling issues the European Parliament had ever dealt with: the European ban on seal products which is currently being challenged by Canada and Norway at the WTO.

Apart from being the honorary president of the intergroup on animal welfare and conservation of animals MEP Schlyter has a long history of working diligently on the EU seal ban, on the transport of live animals and numerous other causes.

The selection process for the award is simple. Anyone and everyone can nominate an MEP in one or more of the 19 categories along with a short text of why they feel that MEP should win. Then a selection panel takes all of the nominees and creates a shortlist of three candidates. This would have been difficult for animal welfare as there were numerous worthy candidates. MEPs themselves then vote on who should win the award.

This year over 400 MEPs voted to determine the winners.



Post a comment


Céline Sissler-Bienvenu, Director, France and Francophone Africa
Director, France and Francophone Africa
Sheryl Fink, Campaign Director, Canadian Wildlife
Campaign Director, Canadian Wildlife
Sonja Van Tichelen, Vice President of International Operations
Vice President of International Operations