Which MEP did the most for animal welfare in 2013?

The 2012 MEP Award winners.Nominations are now open for this year’s MEP Awards, and for the second time IFAW will be sponsoring an Animal Welfare award.

Last year’s inaugural award was won by Dan Jørgensen, a Danish MEP from the S&D group. He is also the president of the Intergroup for Animal Welfare in the European Parliament along with MEP Striffler of France and the EPP group.

Anyone can submit an MEP for the animal welfare award by visiting https://www.mepawards.eu and click on ‘Nominate’.

Nominations are open until April 26th at which stage the organisers of the MEP Awards will select a shortlist of candidates based on the most compelling cases put forward on behalf of the nominees. That shortlist is then submitted to the 754 MEPs across Europe and they vote for their peer who best advanced the cause of animal welfare or any one of the other 17 categories.

The winner will be announced June 25th here in Brussels.

For IFAW the purpose of sponsoring this award is twofold. First, we get to recognise one of the many MEPs who work tremendously hard to help improve the welfare of animals within the EU. Secondly, it helps to show other MEPs, who might not think of animal welfare as an important issue, that it is actually an area of tremendous importance for the parliament and for their constituents.

So think back on the year that has been and select the MEP who you think has done the most to improve animal welfare in the last year!

Post a comment


Azzedine Downes,IFAW President and CEO
President and Chief Executive Officer
Beth Allgood, Country Director, United States
Country Director, United States
Cynthia Milburn, Director, Animal Welfare Outreach & Education
Senior Advisor, Policy Development
Dr. Maria (Masha) N. Vorontsova, Regional Director, Russia & CIS
Regional Director, Russia & CIS
Faye Cuevas, Esq.
Senior Vice President
Grace Ge Gabriel, Regional Director, Asia
Regional Director, Asia
Jason Bell, Vice President for Conservation and Animal Welfare
Vice President for Conservation and Animal Welfare
Jeffrey Flocken, Regional Director, North America
Regional Director, North America
Patrick Ramage, Program Director, Whales
Program Director, Marine Conservation
Peter LaFontaine, Campaigns Manager, IFAW Washington, D.C.
Campaigns Manager, IFAW Washington, D.C.
Sonja Van Tichelen, Vice President of International Operations
Vice President of International Operations
Tania McCrea-Steele, Project Lead, Global Wildlife Cybercrime
Project Lead, Global Wildlife Cybercrime