Animal Action Award winners honoured in Sydney

Australia's 2012 IFAW Animal Action Award winners.Our Sydney office recently had the pleasure of holding the International Fund for Animal Welfare Animal Action Awards for 2012, honouring 11 very special Australians in front of IFAW supporters and staff, their peers, families and friends at Customs House, Sydney.

These awards are held annually as part of IFAW’s Animal Action programme, which takes place in 16 countries. The ceremony is a personal highlight on the IFAW calendar for me.

In 2012 we saw a record amount of nominations and our judging panel had a particularly difficult time choosing from all the outstanding individuals and groups whose work greatly improves the lives of the animals we love.  And, for the first time, three special animals were honoured  for their efforts in assisting humans and a category for online action was created.

The 2012 recipients are:

Animal Action Education – Kangaroo Island Dolphin Watch

Animal Action Research – Murdoch University Cetacean Research Unit (MUCRU)

Outstanding Contribution from a Vet – Dr. Emma Kennedy

Outstanding Volunteer – Kim McCreanor

Online Animal Action – Dr. Rayya T- Malaeb

Pet of the Year – Dylan

Animal of the Year - Flo Joe and Cody (joint winners)

Young Animal Welfare Campaigners – Daniel and William Clarke

Lifetime Dedication Award – Bob Irwin

Over coming weeks we’ll be profiling each of our winners here on our website and via our Twitter account and Facebook pages.

IFAW remains committed to our role in protecting and rescuing animals both here in Australia and around the world. On behalf of the IFAW Sydney team, I wish to thank our wonderful supporters for their continued efforts and for making these events possible.


Post a comment